Minnesota State Boys' Hockey Tournament Facts for 2025 (from information compiled by <u>rrr.hockey</u>)

Records Tied:

Most goal scored by player in period:

Moorhead's Mason Kraft scored four goals in the first period of the Spuds championship game with Stillwater. This tied the record held by John Mayasich from Eveleth who scored four goals in the first period of his game with Williams in 1951.

Most goals scored by both teams in a championship game:

Moorhead and Stillwater combined for thirteen goals in their championship game, tying the record held by Warroad and Red Wing in the 1996 State A championship game (a 10-3 win for Warroad).

Jottings:

Moorhead was successful in winning the Class AA State Title after losing in their previous eight attempts.

The Class A championship game overtime thriller, won by East Grand Forks, was the eighteenth time a championship game needed overtime.

Edina won their twelfth state tournament overtime game when they beat Rogers in the Class AA quarterfinals. Those twelve o.t. wins are the most by any school. Hill-Murray has ten overtime wins to claim second place.

Mason Kraft from Moorhead led all Class AA scorers with nine goals and two assists for a total of eleven points. The Class A leading scoring honors went to six point getters Ben Geiger of Northfield (four goals, two assists), Orono's Rory Kvern, Trey Landa and Ethan Pagel (all with three goals, three assists), and Hibbing/Chisholm's Cole Swanson (two goals, four assists).

There were seven "rookie" coaches this season that had never coached in the State Tournament.

For the first time since 2020, a penalty shot occurred in a game. In the Class A semifinals, St. Cloud Cathedral's John Hirschfeld was awarded one against Orono. However, similar to the penalty shot in 2020 by Brady Knorr of Hutchinson, it was not converted.

Five officials that had not worked in prior State Tournaments worked this year.

Mike Randolph, coach from Northern Lakes, qualified for a record-tying nineteenth state tournament (the previous eighteen were with Duluth East). He shares the record with the legendary Willard Ikola of Edina.